National Parks
in the Southeast Region

Beach at Canaveral National Seashore Flowers in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park Monument in Vicksburg National Military Park
Home National Parks Mid-Atlantic National Parks Midwest National Parks
States in the Southeast Region
Alabama Florida Georgia Kentucky Mississippi North Carolina South Carolina Tennessee Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands

The southeast region includes the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The parks in the region include pristine natural features, unique cultural resources, and outstanding recreational opportunities.

Five parks exemplify the natural ecosystem of the region. These range from the caves of Mammoth Cave National Park to the forest wild lands of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to the coral reefs of the Virgin Islands National Park.

Cultural resources include areas occupied by Native Americans long before the coming of the Europeans, and battlefields, forts, and cemeteries from the Revolutionary and Civil wars. Famous Americans are also honored through the preservation of their homes, such as Carl Sandburg's in North Carolina. Also honored are the sites of their accomplishments, such as The Wright Brothers Memorial in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.

Recreational areas include four parks with outstanding beaches along the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Also, there are two national or wild and scenic rivers in the region.

All images Copyright by Eric Schweitzer 2010. All rights reserved. Requests for permission to use may be made by e-mailing me.